Championship points following the 6 Hours of Nurburgring

A dramatic and eventful fourth round of the FIA World Endurance Championship at Nürburgring saw many twists and turns in the points' standings. With five rounds to go and a total of 130 points available, there is still all to play for in the 2016 campaign.

While Porsche again won the Nürburgring race, the FIA World Endurance Drivers’ Championship sees a slight narrowing of the gap between the protagonists after Romain Dumas, Neel Jani and Marc Lieb were out-scored by two of their rivals.

The gap has now been trimmed to 33 points as Lucas Di Grassi, Loic Duval and Oliver Jarvis continued their fine run of performances in Germany.

Adding to a solid points score at the weekend was the No.6 Toyota Gazoo Racing crew of Mike Conway, Stephane Sarrazin and Kamui Kobayashi who keep third position ahead of Andre Lotterer and Marcel Fassler who took 15 points.

In the World Manufacturers Championship, Porsche stretched its lead over Audi but only by three points. Toyota is some way behind with a deficit of 67 points to the leaders.

The LMP1 Privateer category sees Rebellion extend its lead in both drivers and teams’ title chases after ByKolles' retirement. The No.13 crew of Dominik Kraihamer, Alexander Imperatori and Matteo Tuscher reduced the gap to Prost and Heidfeld to 29 points.

The FIA Endurance Trophy for LMP2 Drivers sees a large 41 points gap to the opposition enjoyed by Signatech Alpine's Nicolas Lapierre, Stephane Richelmi and Gustavo Menezes. After a stellar season which has seen three wins from four races, the "Les Bleues" squad are red hot favourites for the title.

While the LMP championship fights see clear leaders, in LMGTE Pro it could hardly be tighter as Olivier Pla and Stefan Mucke have a small two point cushion over AF Corse Ferrari rivals Sam Bird and Davide Rigon.

Nurburgring winners James Calado and Gianmaria Bruni have finally kick-started their season but are still 28 points in arrears.

The FIA World Endurance Cup for GT Manufacturers’ is also closely contested with a mere eight points separating leaders Ferrari to Aston Martin.

A healthy 41 points is now the gap in LMGTE Am as Francois Perrodo, Rui Aguas and Emmanuel Collard lead Nürburgring victors Paul Dalla Lana, Mathias Lauda and Pedro Lamy. AF Corse lead Aston Martin Racing by the same margin in the FIA Endurance Trophy for LMGTE Am Teams.